UNM psychiatry professor elected International Neuropsychological Society president

Dr. Kathleen Haaland

Dr. Kathleen Haaland has been elected president of the International Neuropsychological Society.  Haaland, a board-certified clinical neuropsychologist, is a professor in the UNM School of Medicine Department of Psychiatry and a research career scientist at the New Mexico VA Healthcare System. 

The International Neuropsychological Society was founded in 1967 as a scientific and educational organization dedicated to enhancing communication among the scientific disciplines that contribute to the understanding of brain-behavior relationships. The society currently has more than 4,500 members throughout the world and from various areas of practice.

The mission of the International Neuropsychological Society is to promote the international and interdisciplinary study of brain-behavioral relationships throughout the lifespan. The society's emphasis is on science, education and the applications of scientific knowledge.  

“As a lifelong clinician, teacher and researcher, I particularly value how the International Neuropsychological Society brings clinical practice, training and science together. I look forward to further integrating international multidisciplinary perspectives to enhance the International Neuropsychological Society's impact,” Haaland says.

Among her many honors, Haaland received the Distinguished Lifetime Career Contribution Award from the National Academy of Neuropsychology in 2012.

Categories: Schools & Colleges, School of Medicine

Related Stories

Jumpstart Your Workout Routine

Jumpstart Your Workout Routine

Join us for a high-intensity workout that uses the best tool you have, your body! Led by experienced, certified instructors, this program is geared to all fitness levels.
Kick Your Fitness Up a Notch

Kick Your Fitness Up a Notch

What exactly is Cardio Kickboxing? A combination of aerobics, boxing and martial arts, it's one of the most popular fitness trends to hit the gym in recent years, with total-body workouts that have motivated many people to start a fitness program.