2003 Cancer Coalition Council Members Announced

The UNM Cancer Research and Treatment Center announces the members of the Cancer Coalition Council (CCC) for 2003.  These community leaders support patient care, research and educational efforts by raising funds and awareness throughout the state of New Mexico. They are:


Connie Beimer, special assistant to the chief of staff for New Mexico Gov. Bill Richardson;

Michael Daly, Morgan Stanley Dean Witter;

Thelma Domenici, Thelma Domenici & Associates;

Bob Grant, Grant Enterprises;

Michael Grantham, Bio Reason;

Monica Hussey, PNM Foundation liaison and UNM Small Business Institute coordinator

Geoffrey Kalmus, retired attorney;

Marnie Kern; marketing consultant;

Kathleen McVicker, McVicker Innovations;

Steven K. Moise, Moise & Co.;

Leonard Napolitano, former dean, UNM School of Medicine;

Peter Parnegg, Coldwell Banker;

Sam Poxon, Calvin Scott & Co.

Skip Prichard, doctor of veterinary medicine;

Penny Rembe, businesswoman and former member of UNM Board of Regents

Miguel Rios, Jr., Ph.D., Orion International Technologies;

Holly Traver, Wells Fargo Bank;

Peggy Traver, community volunteer;

JoLou Trujillo-Ottino, Mediaworks;

Mary Sue Walsh, artist;

Christie Waszak, community volunteer;

Larry Willard (honorary member), CEO, Wells Fargo Bank and president of the UNM Board of Regents


The UNM Cancer Research & Treatment Center, founded in 1972, is the only academic health care facility in the state dedicated to both cancer research and patient care.

Contact: Lynn Melton, 272-3322

Related Stories

Espresso Cafe New Name & Logo Contest

Espresso Cafe New Name & Logo Contest

After 25 years, the Espresso Café in the University of New Mexico Hospital (UNMH) is ready for a new name and a new logo. Please submit your suggested name for the cafe and/or logo idea, along with your contact info, to maraustin@salud.unm.edu by April 5.
“The Providers” Documentary Screenings and National Broadcast Debut

“The Providers” Documentary Screenings and National Broadcast Debut

The award-winning documentary “The Providers,” featuring UNM School of Medicine alumni Leslie Hayes, MD, Matt Probst, PA-C, and College of Nursing alumnus Chris Ruge, RN, will screen on Saturday, March 30 at 10 a.m. and 1 p.m in the UNM Student Union Building (SUB). The national broadcast debut of “The Providers” documentary is set for Monday, April 8 on Independent Lens | PBS.