CoP Recognizes Faculty Members with Hadley Award

October 6, 2006

Contact: Lauren Cruse (505) 272-3690


Albuquerque, UNM - The University of New Mexico College of Pharmacy (UNM COP) recently debuted its William M. Hadley COP Distinguished Faculty Scholar Award by recognizing professors Mary Walker, PhD and Ke Jian "Jim" Liu, PhD with the accolade.

Named in honor of former COP dean Dr. William M. Hadley (dean, 1986-2002), the two-year award was created to recognize faculty for their outstanding work in research. Recipients are awarded $5,000 for each of the two years to use toward future research projects.

Walker is the first ever to receive the award and will hold the honor from 2006-2008 while Liu will have the award from 2008-2010.

The awards presentation was part of the Research Incubator Building (RIB) Open House held Friday, September 29. For the event, researches from various UNM Health Sciences Center (HSC) departments displayed posters showing the different research projects being conducted at the RIB.

Related Stories

Elemental Research

Elemental Research

UNM Wins Five-Year $11.5 Million Grant for Center for Metals in Biology and Medicine