CoP Students Help with Shots for Tots to Teens

August 16, 2006

Contact: Lauren Cruse (505) 272-3690


Albuquerque, UNM-Several University of New Mexico College of Pharmacy (UNM COP) students dedicated their time to help with the ninth annual Shots for Tots to Teens state-wide immunization program this August.

Some students offered assistance answering phone calls from people with questions about the immunization program while others worked at an actual clinic where children received free vaccinations for the new school year.

Anna Pentler, Executive Director of the New Mexico Immunization Coalition, said COP students have always volunteered at the clinics, assisting the nurses and preparing the vaccinations, but this was the first year COP students helped with answering the hotline the night before clinics around the state opened.

The COP values its partnership with the Shots for Tots to Teens program and the New Mexico Immunization Coalition. Pentler said the state of New Mexico is fortunate in that its pharmacists, who are trained in immunizations, have the authority to prescribe and administer vaccinations, making pharmacists critical partners in the immunization effort.

The Shots for Tots to Teens campaign kicked off on Saturday, August 12 with locations throughout the state offering free immunizations to children 18 and under just in time for the start of the school year. Children received vaccinations to help protect them against everything from measles and mumps to the chicken pox.

COP students who helped answer the immunization hotline on Friday night were Roberto Gomez, Ilnaz Shirkhorshidian, Summer Schroeder, Eric Uhl and Barbara Hamer. The students who worked at a clinic set up at the Karl Malone Toyota dealership in Albuquerque on Saturday were Kimberly Neff, Jennifer Smith, Samantha Feldner and Summer Schroeder.

Related Stories

NAMI New Mexico Annual 5k Walk

NAMI New Mexico Annual 5k Walk

The Sandoval Regional Medical Center (SRMC) is gearing up to sup­port the National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI) through its annual 5k walk on Saturday, May 11 at Balloon Fiesta Field. In years past, SRMC staff, their friends and family have come together to raise money and awareness to help aid in the fight to overcome the obstacles of mental illness.
Center for Healthcare Equity in Kidney Disease Kickoff Event

Center for Healthcare Equity in Kidney Disease Kickoff Event

On Thursday, April 25 CHEK-D will hold a recognition and kickoff event, with a talk and presentation by Dr. Richard Larson, Vice Chancellor for Research, and Dr. Larissa Myaskovsky, CHEK-D Director, from 9 – 10 a.m. in Domenici North Wing room 2710.
UNM Distinguished Diversity Scholar Luncheon and Talk

UNM Distinguished Diversity Scholar Luncheon and Talk

UNM HSC is honored to continue our partnership with Professor Alford. We would like to invite everyone to join us as she presents the UNM Distinguished Diversity Scholar luncheon talk: Enhancing Wellness By Honoring Our Humanity on Friday, April 26.