Dr. Wallerstein Receives National Award

The Community-Based Public Health (CBPH) Caucus of the American Public Health Association (APHA) recently presented its 2009 Tom Bruce Award to Nina Wallerstein. Dr. P.H., Professor, MPH Program, Department of Family and Community Medicine, and Bonnie Duran, Dr. P.H. associate professor at the University of Washington School Of Community Medicine and the Indigenous Wellness Research Institute. The Tom Bruce Award was established in 2006 and celebrates the work and the legacy of Dr. Bruce to CBPH.

Wallerstein, who is also director of the UNM Center for Participatory Research, is a widely known expert in empowerment and its relationship to community-based public health and research. Her effective collaborations with tribal and other communities, her gifted teaching and mentoring have all made sustainable contributions to the field.

Duran is a founding member of the International Network for Indigenous Health Knowledge and Development (INIHKD) which is an international assembly dedicated to improving the health of indigenous peoples in Australia, New Zealand, Canada, and the United States. She has conducted several intervention projects in partnership with the Navajo Nation and other tribal communities.

The pair were nominated by Navajo Nation officials who noted they had been instrumental in giving the Navajo Nation as well as other communities of color opportunities to participate in national roundtables promoting community ? based health.

“…Dr. Duran and Dr. Wallerstein have demonstrated exemplary leadership and significant contributions to the CBPH movement across Indian country and other historically marginalized communities,” wrote Beverly Becenti ? Pigman, chair of the Navajo Nation Health Research Review Board in their nomination application. Working with the CBPH Caucus and other groups, they have helped create a national community of practice to improve the outcomes of such work with marginalized communities.

The Tom Bruce Award is given annually to recognize an individual who has made a significant contribution to the CBPH Caucus and the CBPH Movement. Previous recipients of the award have been Toby Citrin, Sarena Seifer, Eugenia Eng, Barbara Israel, and Meredith Minkler. Thomas Allen Bruce, M.D., is a physician, educator, and philanthropist who served as a program director at the W.K. Kellogg Foundation from 1985 to 1997. He provided direction for the national Community ? Based Public Health initiative beginning in 1990. Many in the CBPH Movement have called Dr. Bruce the "Father of CBPH".

Contact: Cindy Foster, 272-3322

Related Stories

Espresso Cafe New Name & Logo Contest

Espresso Cafe New Name & Logo Contest

After 25 years, the Espresso Café in the University of New Mexico Hospital (UNMH) is ready for a new name and a new logo. Please submit your suggested name for the cafe and/or logo idea, along with your contact info, to maraustin@salud.unm.edu by April 5.
“The Providers” Documentary Screenings and National Broadcast Debut

“The Providers” Documentary Screenings and National Broadcast Debut

The award-winning documentary “The Providers,” featuring UNM School of Medicine alumni Leslie Hayes, MD, Matt Probst, PA-C, and College of Nursing alumnus Chris Ruge, RN, will screen on Saturday, March 30 at 10 a.m. and 1 p.m in the UNM Student Union Building (SUB). The national broadcast debut of “The Providers” documentary is set for Monday, April 8 on Independent Lens | PBS.