Five Receive Annual Dean's Staff Award

October 27, 2004

Contact: Luke Frank, Senior Public Affairs Representative, 272-3679


From a pool of nearly 140 nominees, five superlative staffers were selected this month for the 10th Annual Dean's Staff Award for the School of Medicine. The winners, each of whom received a gift certificate and $2,500, are:

  1. Joe Sparkman Program Manager, Graduate Medical Education
  2. Randy Wright Senior Database Administrator, Systems and Programming
  3. Mandara (Joan) Devine Grants Coordinator, Neurosciences
  4. Kyle Vick Analyst/Programmer, Systems & Programming
  5. Margaret Romero Senior Residency Coordinator, Radiology

Paul Roth, M.D., dean of UNM School of Medicine (SOM), began the award 10 years ago to recognize outstanding SOM staff. "It's important that we recognize the hard work that goes on behind the scenes here at the School of Medicine," Roth declares. "We enjoy the benefits of some very innovative and efficient staff who quietly go about doing their jobs. They should be rewarded."

Award recipients, honored in a ceremony this month at the Health Sciences Center Plaza, were presented a certificate of appreciation and $2,500 check.

The mission of the University of New Mexico School of Medicine is to educate physicians, scientists, and allied health professionals through the transmission of biomedical knowledge acquired from research and patient care.

The University of New Mexico Health Sciences Center provides added value to health care through leadership in providing innovative, collaborative education; advancing frontiers of science through research critical to the future of health care; delivering health care services that are at the forefront of science; and facilitating partnerships with public and private biomedical and health enterprises. For more information on the UNM Health Sciences Center, visit .

Related Stories

Native Health

Native Health

Thirty-five million adults in the United States are affected by chronic kidney disease (CKD), including 17 percent of Native Americans in the Southwest.
A Triple Aim Best Practice

A Triple Aim Best Practice

The University of New Mexico Hospital’s Midwifery Practice has received a Triple Aim Best Practice recognition from the American College of Nurse Midwives.
Announcing the New Office of Professional Wellbeing

Announcing the New Office of Professional Wellbeing

As a means of supporting faculty and learners at the UNM School of Medicine in providing the highest quality medical care, the new Office of Professional Wellbeing (OPW) will provide initiatives that improve efficiency of practice, enhance a culture of wellness, and promote personal resiliency.