HSC Researchers To Receive National Award

March 6, 2006

Contact: Luke Frank, 272-3679


ALBUQUERQUE, NM - Three UNM Health Sciences Center physiology researchers will receive the Caroline tum Suden/Frances A. Hellebrandt Professional Opportunity Award next month from the American Physiological Society (APS).

Brad Broughton, Ph.D., and graduate students Kyan J. Allahdadi and Tom Cherng, all from the Vascular Physiology Group in the Department of Cell Biology and Physiology, were recognized by APS for their outstanding research efforts in systemic and pulmonary vascular physiology.

The HSC awardees were selected from among 134 graduate students and postdoctoral fellows who are first author of a study they will present at the Experimental Biology (EB) 2006 Conference, this April in San Francisco , CA .

The award, which carries a $500 prize and complimentary EB registration, is named for Caroline tum Suden and Frances A. Hellebrandt, physiologists and researchers born at the beginning of the 20thCentury who mentored young researchers during lengthy academic careers.

Related Stories

Field Notes

Field Notes

HERO Chantel Lovato Collects Face Masks for Santa Rosa Businesses