LTSS Announces 2010-2011 Board of Directors

La Tierra Sagrada Society (LTSS) , a UNM School of Medicine program to provide medical students financial assistance, fellowship, and volunteerism through membership, announces its board leaders for 2010-2011.


  • President– Deborah Helitzer, ScD , Professor & Vice Chair Research/SOM
  • President Elect– Scott Obenshain, M.D., Faculty/SOM
  • Immediate Past President –Jamie Ricci, CPA, Ricci & Company, LLC


Board of Directors


  • Alice Cushing, M.D. , Retired Faculty/SOM
  • Jettie Omdahl, Community Member
  • Thomas Williams, M.D., Chair, Pathology/SOM
  • Richard Shoberg, M.D., Community Member, Austin, TX
  • Holly Shipp Buchanan, Ed.D. , Director of Health Sciences Library
  • L. Ben Curet, M.D., Faculty/SOM
  • Jeff Griffith, Ph.D., Executive Vice Dean/SOM
  • Past President Diane Klepper, M.D., Faculty/SOM
  • William Rayburn, M.D., Chair Obstetrics & Gynecology/SOM
  • Susan Russell, Community Member



La Tierra Sagrada, Spanish for "The Sacred Earth," was established in 1996 by Paul Roth, M.D., Dean of the UNM School of Medicine, and is a member-driven organization dedicated to medical education, research and healing. The Society focuses on bringing together members of the UNM medical community, its partners and the public to pool membership funds for greater impact. LTSS is the UNM School of Medicine’s key giving membership society. Since 2003, LTSS has awarded more than $398,000 in medical student scholarship and community based grants.

Contact: Luke Frank, 272-3322

Related Stories

Child Life Positivity

Child Life Positivity

UNM Hospital Child Life Month Postponed due to Coronavirus, but Staffers Find Ways to Brighten Kids' Lives