Occupational Therapy Faculty Earn National Awards


April 22, 2008

Contact: Lauren Cruse (505) 272-3690


ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. - University of New Mexico School of Medicine (UNM SOM) faculty members from the Occupational Therapy graduate program recently received national awards at the American Occupational Therapy Association (AOTA) annual meeting.

Dr. Janet Poole was selected to join the American Occupational Therapy Foundation’s Academy of Research. The academy consists of 41 national leaders who are recognized for their scholarship and research contributions. In her research, Poole has explored hand impairments in people with scleroderma and other rheumatic diseases, and motor recovery in people who have had strokes.

Poole, who currently serves as a tenured professor in the department of pediatrics at UNM, joined the UNM Occupational Therapy graduate program in 1993.

Dr. Barbara Hooper was awarded the honor of AOTA Fellow. Those designated as Fellows are individuals who have significantly contributed to the advancement of occupational therapy education and professional development of members of the AOTA. Hooper was recognized for her leadership in transformative graduate education in occupational therapy. At UNM, she is currently studying the processes by which educators promote new ways of knowing among graduate students. On a national level, Hooper continues to be involved in faculty and curriculum development initiatives.

Hooper is an assistant professor in the department of pediatrics at UNM and has been with the UNM Occupational Therapy graduate program since 2004.

Related Stories

Field Notes

Field Notes

HERO Chantel Lovato Collects Face Masks for Santa Rosa Businesses
Student Supporter

Student Supporter

Donald A. Godwin, PhD, Dean of the UNM College of Pharmacy, has been awarded the James Robertson,...