HSC Statement HSC Statement

Changes Announced at OMI

Kurt B. Nolte, MD, is resigning as Chief Medical Investigator at the Office of the Medical Investigator (OMI) effective July 1, 2019. Dr. Nolte, a UNM Distinguished Professor of Pathology and Radiology and forensic pathologist, has been with OMI for 29 years including the last 5 years when he served as the Chief. During his tenure, he led the office’s response to the outbreak of hantavirus pulmonary syndrome, headed the medical team that designed the OMI state-of-the-art biosafety level-3 autopsy laboratory, led the implementation of advanced radiologic imaging technology for forensic autopsy, and successfully advocated for state resources to support the OMI, including funds to rebuild the Grief Counseling Program. 

Dr. Nolte will continue to serve as a professor in the School of Medicine Department of Pathology where he will focus his efforts on research.

“It has been an honor and privilege to work with the talented and committed OMI faculty and staff as they investigate deaths to serve the living, perform cutting edge research that informs how we investigate deaths, and train future physicians,  forensic pathologists, and investigators,” Nolte said. “Going forward, I will dedicate myself to research and scholarship and to serving as a mentor.”

The OMI Board will identify an interim Chief Medical Investigator and soon conduct a national search to identify Nolte’s successor. 

Dr. Paul Roth, UNM Health Sciences Center Chancellor and Chair of the OMI Board said, “I thank Dr. Nolte for his years of service to the people of New Mexico and his staunch advocacy for needed OMI resources.”

The Office of the Medical Investigator is the statewide, centralized death investigative agency for New Mexico that is academically-based in the UNM School of Medicine. OMI investigates more than 7,000 deaths annually.

Categories: Top Stories

Related Stories

Field Notes

Field Notes

HERO Chantel Lovato Collects Face Masks for Santa Rosa Businesses
Student Supporter

Student Supporter

Donald A. Godwin, PhD, Dean of the UNM College of Pharmacy, has been awarded the James Robertson,...