School of Medicine Honors Students, Faculty with Awards

May 12, 2006

Contact: Luke Frank, Senior Public Affairs Representative 272-3679


UNM School of Medicine students and faculty were honored for their professional, academic, research and community service achievements at the Second Annual School of Medicine Student and Faculty Awards Ceremony May 11 on the Health Sciences Center Plaza .

Each of these folks was recognized for the hard work and dedication demonstrated in advancing health care and health sciences education over the last year. Congratulations to them all.

Khatali Medical Alumni Association Awards

Khatali Outstanding Academic Achievement Award

Shilpa Reddy

Khatali Outstanding Senior Student Award

Piia Thomas

Khatali Senior Academic Achievement Award

Jason Mudd

Khatali Community Service Awards

Sara Meltzer

Nancy Sokkary

Diane Wood

Max Bennett Service Award

Mary Billstrand

Agatha Norwood

Research Awards

William Scott Hays Outstanding Medical Student Research Award

Absalón Gutierrez

Outstanding Research Award

Nathan Boyd

Outstanding Research in Public Health

Sophie Peterson [Phase II]

American Federation for Medical Research Award

Brigg Barsness

Trevor Martenson

Heather Bixler

Academic Awards

Faculty Award for Excellence

Nathan Boyd

Ursa Brown Glaberman

Augustine Chavez

Dustin Cole

Shilpa Reddy

Outstanding Achievement in Integrative Medicine Award

Shree Chanchani

George Omer Outstanding Achievement in Orthopaedics Award

Patrick Mulkey [Phase II]

W. Sterling Edwards Patient Communication Awards

Dalice Marriott

Theresa White

Alpha Omega Alpha Recognition of Class of 2006 Members

Nathan Boyd

Ursa Brown Glaberman

Dustin Cole

Zachary Goldman

Jennifer Hall

Jessica Kentish

Dalice Marriott

Jason Mudd

Agatha Norwood

Shilpa Reddy

Allyson Richards

Piia Thomas

Deborah Yee

Resident: M. Brian Hemphill, M.D., Internal Medicine

Clerkship Awards

Family & Community Medicine

Dustin Cole

Internal Medicine

Keri Shafer

Obstetrics & Gynecology

Dalice Marriott

Neurology American Academy of Neurology Medical Student Prize for Excellence in Neurology

Piia Thomas


Lanier Lopez

Diane Wood


Jason Mudd

Arand Pierce

Shilpa Reddy


Michelle Ellis

Professionalism and Service Awards

School of Medicine Service Award

Piia Thomas

Practical Immersion Experience Award

Zachary Goldman

Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Awards Presented by the Arnold P. Gold Foundation

Student: Will Kaufman

Faculty: Richard Rubin, M.D.

Center for Native American Health Award

Jeanine Valdez

Diversity Award for Excellence in Community Service

Angela Bradley

Health Science Library Awards:

Excellence in Informatics Seeking & Critical Thinking

Almea Matanock [Phase II]

Excellence in Teaching Service

Shree Chanchani

Excellence in Informatics

Ursa Brown Glaberman

Faculty Awards

Phase I

Beth Jones, PT, DPT, OCS

Phase II

Gwendolyn Lattimore, M.D.

Alan Waxman, M.D.

Phase III
Cynthia Geppert, M.D., Ph.D.

Residency/Fellowship Years

Stephen Lewis, M.D.

Kaaren Reicherd, M.D.

Biomedical & Graduate Program

Michelle Ozbun, Ph.D.

Diagnostic and Therapeutic Sciences

Barbara Hooper, Ph.D.

Volunteer Faculty

Dara Lee, M.D.

Polly Primm, M.D., & Anesthesia Associates of NM

Lance Rudolph, M.D.

Excellence in Curricular Leadership

Terry Crowe, Ph.D.

Lee Danielson, MT (ASCP), Ph.D.

Sheila Hickey, M.D.

Related Stories

Field Notes

Field Notes

HERO Chantel Lovato Collects Face Masks for Santa Rosa Businesses