Sigma Theta Tau Inducts 47 Nursing Students

June 1, 2007

Contact: Lauren Cruse (505) 272-3690


Sigma Theta Tau Inducts 47 Nursing Students

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. - On May 6, Sigma Theta Tau, an international nursing organization at the University of New Mexico College of Nursing, inducted 47 nursing students, including 29 undergraduate students, 18 graduate students and one doctoral student.

As an honor society of nursing, Sigma Theta Tau provides leadership and scholarship in practice, education and research to enhance the health of all people. The society’s mission is to support the learning and professional development of its members, who strive to improve nursing care worldwide.

Award winners and new officers were also recognized at the induction ceremony. Below is a list of awards and new officers:

Faculty Awards:

Jan Wayland - Gamma Sigma’s Marion Fleck Mentor Award

Linda Sorensen - Gamma Sigma’s Practice Award

Joan Bradley - Gamma Sigma’s Estelle H. Rosenblum Educator Award

Cindy Mendelson - Gamma Sigma’s Research Award

Student Awards:

Margary Cypress - received a $2,500 grant for her dissertation

Jeffrey Zammas - Outstanding Undergraduate Student Award

Judy Liesveld - Outstanding Graduate Student Award

New Officers:

Debra Brady - President-elect

Jennifer Averill - Second Vice President

Mona Ternus - Treasurer

Ruth Nichols - Counselor

Geoff Schuster and Cheryl Duran - Leadership Succession Committee members

Related Stories