Sklar Elected to National ACEP Board

November 17, 2005

Contact: Jenny Savage (505) 272-3690


David Sklar, M.D., chair of the University of New Mexico department of emergency medicine, has been elected to the Board of Directors of the American College of Emergency Physicians (ACEP). He will join 11 additional directors from across the country who make up the organizations policymaking body responsible for ACEP's management and control.

"As the largest organization of emergency physicians, ACEP has great influence on the continuing debate about how to address the current problems in our health care system," said Sklar of the appointment. "I look forward to having the opportunity to influence the direction of the discussions with policy leaders about the future of our health care system."

Sklar brings years of leadership and experience in quality improvement, liability, risk management, and resident education to the board of ACEP. In addition to serving the department of emergency medicine at the University of New Mexico School of Medicine as chairman since 1993, Sklar served as chief of staff from 1995-7, and as vice chairman from 1991-3. He received his medical degree from Stanford University Medical School and completed residencies in emergency medicine at the University of California Medical Center in San Francisco , and in internal medicine at the University of New Mexico School of Medicine.

The American College of Emergency Physicians is a medical specialty society representing more than 23,000 physicians who specialize in emergency medicine. ACEP is dedicated to improving emergency care through continuing education, research and public education. Board members are elected at the annual ACEP Council meeting and can serve up to two, three-year terms.

Related Stories

Spreading the Word

Spreading the Word

UNM's Project ECHO has Trained 500,000 Health Care Workers Worldwide in COVID-19 Treatment