UNM CoP Student Elected to National Post


March 31, 2008

Contact: Lauren Cruse (505) 272-3690


ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. - Second-year University of New Mexico College of Pharmacy (UNM COP) student Adriane Irwin was recently elected National President-elect of the American Pharmacists Association - Academy of Student Pharmacists (APhA-ASP) at the APhA 2008 annual meeting in San Diego, Calif.

APhA-ASP has 30,000 student members from across the nation representing the 102 pharmacy schools in the U.S and is the largest pharmacy student organization in the world.

Irwin is the first UNM pharmacy student in the College’s 63-year history to be elected president-elect and is the third UNM COP student in the last four years to hold a national office.

Irwin ran against a student from the University of Florida-Gainesville in front of 2,700 pharmacy students. Both fielded questions related to national pharmacy issues and had to present a four minute speech to students and the APhA-ASP House of Delegates before the final vote. Irwin won the majority vote.

The APhA-ASP National President-elect serves in office for two years, the first year as president-elect and the second year as APhA-ASP National President.

For over 35 years, APhA-ASP has played a key role in helping students navigate through pharmacy school, explore careers in pharmacy, and connect with others in the profession.

Related Stories

Field Notes

Field Notes

HERO Chantel Lovato Collects Face Masks for Santa Rosa Businesses