UNM Health Sciences Center Occupational Therapy Faculty and Staff Honors


Four UNM employees have been recognized for their contribution and efforts in the field of Occupational Therapy.

Dr. Patricia Burtner recently received the David Jackson Research Award at the UNM School of Medicine at the Southwest Conference on Disability in Albuquerque, New Mexico.  This prestigious award is to recognize individuals who have conducted significant research related to disability issues and scholarly productivity by the faculty and students.

Dr. Terry K. Crowe, Professor in the UNM Occupational Therapy Graduate Program (Department of Orthopaedics), has been appointed to serve on the Board of Trustees for Rocky Mountain University of Health Professor (RMUOHP) in Provo, Utah.  RMUOHP offers post-professional education for physical therapists, occupational therapists, athletic trainers and nurses.

Dr. Betsy VanLeit, Assistant Professor in the UNM Occupational Therapy Graduate Program (Department of Orthopaedics) received the UNM School of Medicine Outstanding Teacher Award for teaching several courses, facilitation for problem-based learning sessions, assisting in curriculum development, and mentoring students in research. 

Mary Thomas, Program Advisement Coordinator, was recognized for her excellence in commitment, hard work and loyalty to the UNM Occupational Therapy Graduate Program with the School of Medicine Dean Staff Award in October. 

Contact: HSC Public Affairs, 272-3322

Related Stories