UNM Nurses Recognized Nationally for Excellence

May 20, 2005

Contact: Angela Heisel, 272-3651


Forty seven nursing undergraduate and graduate students, and community nursing leaders were inducted into the Gamma Sigma Chapter of Sigma Theta Tau International at the 27thChapter Awards and Induction Ceremony Program held at the University of New Mexico College of Nursing, April 17th.

Inductees included the following undergraduate students: Jonas Allalunis, Jennifer Anderson, Molly Ashcraft, Emily Carey, Rosalia Casares, Lorena Cavazos, Joy Essenmacher, Lori Frohe, Kelly Gomez, Christy Hartline, Denise Jarvis, Ross Mynatt, Stephanie Noya, Julie Planeta, Razvan Preda, Colette Smith, Rachel Stephens, Paul Tomas, Elizabeth Williams, Kendall Wines and Rae Woods. Graduate students inducted included Darla Bannister, Lisa Corsie, Karen Farias, Paula Johnson, Michele Kirk, Hanna Krieger, Jenny Loshbaugh, Elizabeth Madison, Yolanda Morales, Stephanie Morgan, Jennifer Read and Andrea Wall. Community Nurse Leaders inducted included Kathy Garcia and Cynthia Martinez.

Outstanding Undergraduate Student Award for Spring 2005 went to Randall Rouckus, and Outstanding Graduate Student Award Spring 2005 went to Hanna Krieger.

Four awards were presented to Gamma Sigma Chapter members. The Nursing Education Award was presented to Dr. Jean Giddens. The Marion Fleck Mentor Award was presented to Dr. Patsy Duphorne. The Clinical Practice Award was presented to Yolanda Jaramillo, BSN, MPH, RN. The Research Award was presented to Dr. Paula Meek. Two Research Grants were also presented to Dr. Jean Giddens for her study "A Survey of Physical Examination Skills Taught in Undergraduate Nursing Programs" and to Judy Liesveld for her study "Teachers' Beliefs and Values Regarding Children with ADHD".

Officers of Gamma Sigma Chapter for the coming year are Mary Eichorn, President; Lorena Beeman, President Elect; First Vice President Margaret Dahrling; Second Vice President, Jean Giddens; Treasurer, Cheryl Duran; Secretary, Dorothy Posey; Counselors, Jan Wayland, Debra Smith. Gamma Sigma Chapter is associated with the University of New Mexico College of Nursing. Sigma Theta Tau International works to foster, develop and connect nurse scholars and leaders worldwide to improve health care. The society promotes nursing excellence through its initiatives in research, leadership, an electronic library, programming and publications and develops and distributes nursing knowledge for use in practice.

Membership is by invitation to baccalaureate and graduate nursing students who demonstrate excellence in scholarship and to nurse leaders who demonstrate exceptional achievement in nursing.

More than 300,000 nurse scholars have been inducted into Sigma Theta Tau with 115,000 active members. It is the second-largest and one of the most prestigious nursing organizations in the world. The society's members are active in more than 85 countries and territories, and the 423 chapter honor societies are located on more than 520 college and university campuses in Australia , Brazil , Canada , Hong Kong , the Netherlands , Pakistan , South Korea , Taiwan and the United States .

Related Stories