UNM School of Medicine Announces the AOA Jonathan Abrams Lectureship

Dr. Paul Roth, dean of the UNM School of Medicine announced that the Alpha Omega Alpha Visiting Lectureship would be named after Jonathan Abrams, M.D. Abrams, a cardiologist and professor of internal medicine has served as the AOA Faculty Councillor for over 20 years.

Distinguished leaders of medicine have visited the UNM School of Medicine to lecture and visit with students. Future lectureships will carry the name of Jonathan Abrams.

Alpha Omega Alpha is the national medical honor society, which promotes scholarship and research in medical schools. Alumni, faculty and honorary membership may also be conferred upon certain physicians who have distinguished themselves in various areas of medical teaching, research and practice.

"It's only fitting that we honor Dr. Abrams and the many years of dedicated service to the School of Medicine's AOA Chapter by naming the lectureship after him," said Roth.

Dr. Ann Gateley has been appointed as the new faculty councillor.
Contact: HSC Public Affairs, 272-3322

Related Stories

Field Notes

Field Notes

HERO Chantel Lovato Collects Face Masks for Santa Rosa Businesses