UNMH Nurses Win NM Nursing Excellence Awards

PRESS RELEASE -- For Immediate Release

Thursday, November 1, 2007

Contact: Lyn Kehoe (505) 272-9823

On Saturday, October 27 at the Hotel Albuquerque in Old Town more than 860 people shared in honoring the excellence in nursing our state enjoys. The Third Annual New Mexico Nursing Excellence Awards honored nurses in 22 categories, and named nursing legends as well.

During last year’s awards process, there were more than 50 nominees from UNMH, and eight came away with awards. This year UNMH proudly reported 68 nominees. On Saturday, an impressive NINE category awardees were from UNMH, NOT including an additional College of Nursing and Nursing Legend award! The UNMH winners:

Advanced Practice: JoAnne Wright, RN • UNM Children’s Hospital

Behavioral Health: Donna Robertson, RN, MS • Psychiatric Counseling

Critical Care: Alicia Bruno, RN • STARS

Charge Nurse: Theresa Newton, RN • Peri-anesthesia

Nursing Management: Christopher O’Donnell, RN • School-Based Health

Nurse Executive: Judy L. Spinella, MSN, MBA, RN • Chief Nursing Officer

Pediatrics: Pamela Lantz, RN • Pediatric Cardiology

Perioperative Care: Kathleen Cramer, RN • Perioperative, OSIS

Women’s Health: Julie Taylor, RN • Women’s Health/Prenatal Clinic

Education/Research: Dr. Mona P. Ternus, UNM College of Nursing

Nursing Legend: Agnes Marshall Walker, RN, BSN, MS • Neuroscience Nursing

UNM Hospitals offers hearty congratulations to these New Mexico Nursing Excellence Award winners, and could not be more appreciative of the contributions they have made to their patients. They live the E3 commitment to quality and service UNMH strives to meet every day: Exceptional Care by Exceptional People. Every Time.

Contact: Lauren Cruse, 272-3322

Related Stories

Elemental Research

Elemental Research

UNM Wins Five-Year $11.5 Million Grant for Center for Metals in Biology and Medicine